top of page
vine9.gif
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarmi Bunny

My Cultural Foods? (9.22.2024)


The recipe of the day is Shui Jiao Dumplings! Unfortunately, because of money constraints, I don’t make extravagant or special meals unless it’s for holidays so I won’t be making them this week. (Spam and rice every day for me!) Still, maybe I can send a photo around the Winter season. The Lunar Year celebration is at the end of January this year, but perhaps I can make a practice batch before the semester ends. I’ll send a photo of them once it’s time!



The ingredients aren’t hard to find at all. The average Asian market has all kinds of produce and meats to acclimate to the kinds of dumplings you prefer. I usually always have flour in my kitchen since I love fried foods! I am dangerously allergic to shellfish, so I trade out prawns or crabs for pork or beef. I eat them with a broth to warm myself up and feel cozy! This can be a good remedy when I’m very sick and have some leftover dumplings in the freezer.

My family comes from a very mixed background and you’d think I’d have access to all kinds of awesome recipes, but it’s the opposite! While it’s true that I’m more open to eating foods from different countries, it's difficult to connect with one group of people when you’re technically from various groups of people. Around my senior year of high school, I started being more open to the idea of being multicultural. I started looking into Hakka Chinese customs and began to celebrate the Lunar Year. I had celebrated it before of course, but I didn’t take it seriously because I felt like an imposter. One tradition during Lunar Year celebrations is making dumplings! Every year I try making them, the better I get! This year, instead of Shui Jiao dumplings, I’m thinking of making Guo Tie Dumplings.




Low, Ann. “Chinese Dumpling Soup 水饺汤,” Anncoo Journal Blog.


Low, Ann. “Guo Tie (Fried Dumpling) 锅贴,” Anncoo Journal Blog.


-Carmi ‧₊˚❀༉‧₊˚.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page