top of page
vine9.gif
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarmi Bunny

Having fun while making art

When I talk about a favorite piece of mine, I usually pick one that has a lot of sentimental importance for me because of something that happened in my own life. This bubbly-looking artwork, on the other hand, is nostalgic for a different reason. Despite the fact that much of my work has a darker underlying meaning, this painting was created solely for the "pleasure of it." I seldom create finished artworks with cheerful notions that make the audience happy when they see them. I had a great time making it! If the viewer is old enough to identify the artwork, they will see that it is based on Nintendo 64 box art. When I was younger, I recall how much more care was put into box art because advertisements were not as frequent on the internet to market what the game had to offer. Video game box art is an admirable lost form of art and I wanted to create a silly ode to it. Obsessiveness is required for artistic accomplishment. You must labor long hours and put everything on the line for a piece that may or may not end up looking its best. Burnout may result from taking things too seriously all of the time, and it can make art a less pleasant experience. Although I do want to make the important distinction between a hobbyist and a person who does art for a living; loving what you do is most important in making a career choice. Keep in mind that not everyone has the same artistic eye as you. Make art a thrilling experience in your unique manner! It doesn't have to be a hassle all of the time, so don't think of it that way. Your artistic talents are at their height when you are enthusiastic about making art, talking about art, receiving constructive criticism, and learning to handle it successfully. When your passion for the arts wanes, so does the quality of your work. You'll eventually become stuck in a rut. Bad art is created by having a negative attitude all of the time. When you're doing something you'd do regardless of the monetary incentive, I believe you realize it does not work. Consider why artists create art in the first place, or better yet, why you create art. Making art may help people take more responsibility for their health and well-being by encouraging independence and curiosity, as well as improving the quality of life by giving more joy. I'm not going to lie and say I don't want money, I desperately need it to survive in this modern world, but money has no bearing on my delight and satisfaction in the process of creating.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page